Please help...advice needed Fast

Search this Thread

Old October 23rd, 2006, 07:34 PM

Please help...advice needed Fast

All,

Im a newbie, and need help figring out if Ive made the right choice. I am in the midst of purchasing a 69 442 convertible. The car definately needs work. It has the original 400 and drivetrain. Im about to pay about 6500 for the car. I need a reality check here. It has rust issues,Mainly on the lower body. but notsure how bad yet (waiting for pics). Ive done restorations before, so I kinda know what Im in for, Its am M code car, no air. Im not sure how rare this is. Any help or advice would be appreciated. Its an ebay buy, got a little pressured and now im having second thoughts....
Old October 24th, 2006, 06:01 AM

As you may already know, these cars are notorious for rust and can have a lot of hidden rust that the seller has not looked for or is hiding and that is the reason he is selling. Get detailed pictures of the floorboards, in the trunk, in the rear fenderwell area, the cowl and lower front fenders, and the core support. Convertibles are notorious for a lot of leaks and water damage. Make sure the VIN starts with 344, that is the specific body # for 442 ONLY! If it does not have that it is NOT a true 442. Make sure it is the matching #'s 400 motor and transmission. There is a pad on the driver side of the motor under the alternator that is stamped from the factory and will look like: 39Mxxxxxx. The 3 is Olds,
9 is the year-1969
M is Lansing plant
The last six digits should be the exact same digits as the last six in your VIN.
If these do not match, it is NOT a #'s matching car.
I hope this helps you make a good decision on the car, good luck!!
Old October 24th, 2006, 02:52 PM

MOST IMPORTANT....With any convertable make sure there is no rot in the frame....converts use a boxed frame that is prone to rot because it holds road salt, dirt, and water!!
Old October 24th, 2006, 03:52 PM