Body work All body work discussion including vinyl tops

Doing quarters on my 71 cutlass, need help!

Search this Thread

Old May 25th, 2010, 03:07 PM

Doing quarters on my 71 cutlass, need help!

I just picked up this 71 cutlass few days ago and been shopping around for prices on doing some body work. I am an experienced auto mechanic but know very little about body repair. Car runs like a charm but came with the lower quarters rotted out.

So far I'm beginning to think I got into the wrong hobby. The 1st guy specialize in car restoration and quote me for $3000 each panel and that price does not even include the panel or paint. The second guy say he'll do it for $1000 per panel but it might escalate half way into it. Am I being jerked around here or what?

My question is , does anyone know of anywhere I can take my car for a good deal on some body work? (In or around the New York state) Or should I take a course on body work and fix my own damn car ?? If so where can I get a good deal on the panels? The factory quarters go for $500 a pop is that freaking normal? I have been told the Tiwan skin is not worth getting .What should I do??????
Old May 26th, 2010, 02:50 PM
Gary

I put the "Taiwan" quarter panels on my 72 442. I did not have a problem with them at all.I bought them from Tamraz about 3 yrs ago and I think they cost about 150.00 a piece. The shop that you took it to is probably anticipating some other problems with replacing the panels, such as new drop downs from the trunk to the panels or maybe having to replace the outer wheel wells. You would be surprise once you cut the panel off how much additional rust you are going to have. Needless to say when I cut mine off, I had to also replace the drop downs and outer wheel wells on both sides because they were too rusty.Here is a thread that I posted

https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...-replaced.html
Old May 26th, 2010, 03:34 PM
1972 Cutlass 455