Body work All body work discussion including vinyl tops

Miner rust repair Which first?

Search this Thread

Old March 3rd, 2009, 02:43 PM
71 cutlass convertible

Miner rust repair Which first?

I Have a 71 conv. cutlass that has some rust problems (suprise suprise).

I have started on the trunk lid the lip has surface rust and some pin holes.
Do I first seal the metal with something like por 15 then smooth with body filler or vise versa. I am first sanding it down to get all the rust off I can.
I am a beginner with this type of work but have sometime to do it right.

Thanks Larry
Old March 3rd, 2009, 03:38 PM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by lshlsh2

Do I first seal the metal with something like por 15 then smooth with body filler or vise versa. I am first sanding it down to get all the rust off I can.

Thanks Larry
Covering the rust will only cause it to come back later. The only way to fix this is to cut out the rusty metal and weld in new. If you have pinholes, the underside is much worse and there are many more pinholes about to form. This is a very common rust area on the 70-72 cars.

Your best bet is to get a good used lid. You are in luck because the 4door trunk lid is the same as the one on the convertible. (Which is why you see so many "convertible" trunk lids for sale on ebay - they all came off of 4dr parts cars). You can use any 1970-1972 convert or 4dr trunk lid.
Old March 3rd, 2009, 05:19 PM
Geezer

Originally Posted by lshlsh2

Thanks Larry