Brake Booster Failure

Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 2015, 06:32 AM

Location: 25 miles North of Tampa, Land O' Lakes, Florida (Originally from Bethpage, Long Island, NY)
Brake Booster Failure

I'm not a mechanic by any means. I had a mechanic install a new Delco-Moraine Brake Booster and Master Cylinder on my 72 Olds Cutlass. It took him for ever to bleed the brakes. To make a long story short, he FORGOT to install the Front Hydraulic Push Rod. There is no Vacuum, so not being a mechanic I am assuming one of the Diaphragm has Failed. My question is do you think that the part is Defective or the Mechanic screwed up and caused damaged to the Booster? The bought the Booster from Summit Racing in April 2014 for $135.. Over a year, so I'm sure I am SOL. Even though I had it just installed last week.

Thanks

Last edited by pfergy600; May 6th, 2015 at 07:05 AM. Reason: Please delete this post, made no sense, lol
Old May 6th, 2015, 06:55 AM

Location: 25 miles North of Tampa, Land O' Lakes, Florida (Originally from Bethpage, Long Island, NY)
Brake Booster Question on 72 Cutlass ???

Just to clarify, I'm not a mechanic by any means. I had a mechanic install a new Delco-Moraine Brake Booster and Master Cylinder on my 72 Olds Cutlass. It took him forever to bleed the brakes. To make a long story short, he FORGOT to install the Front Hydraulic Push Rod. There was no Vacuum, so not being a mechanic I am assuming one of the Diaphragm had Failed. My question is do you think that the part is Defective or the Mechanic screwed up and caused damaged to the Booster? I bought the Booster from Summit Racing in April 2014 for $135.. I haven't called Summit yet, but I am assuming I am SOL since it has been over a year since I purchased it. Even though it was only installed last week.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
Old May 6th, 2015, 09:15 AM
Just an Olds Guy