Care and Appearance Washing, waxing, paint care products, etc.

Looking for a chrome substitute

Search this Thread

Old April 21st, 2022, 11:10 AM

Looking for a chrome substitute

Looking for a friend for a chrome substitute. He is on a budget build with a 33 Studebaker and would like to use some kind of spray chrome on the grill. I have seen some new products that appear very reflective, much like chrome, but I have no experience with this new stuff and all the spray can material I have used was only about 80% reflective and quite soft, also it wouldn't take a clear coat worth a damn. Anyone had any experience on this new stuff?....Tedd Hydrochrome.....

Last edited by Tedd Thompson; April 21st, 2022 at 11:20 AM.
Old April 21st, 2022, 11:36 AM

There was a business locally doing the "spray chrome" and hydro dipping...they are now out of business. I don't know the reasons for their demise so it may or may not be due to the quality of product. I took a tour of their shop while they were operational and it seemed they were still trouble shooting the process - cloudiness, off gassing interactions, etc. Some of the stuff looked good, some not quite as nice as far as sheen/brightness.

The process, whether done professionally or with rattle cans, requires the surfaces to be perfectly smooth as any imperfections will be obvious on the finished piece. A gloss black base coat is then sprayed on...allow to off gas...then the chrome paint is sprayed on lightly. It's semi transparent and relies on the black base coat to help provide the mirror/chrome finish. Finally a (lacquer?) clear coat is applied to protect the easily worn "chrome".