New 1962 Cutlass Owner seeks opinions/advice on transmission swaps

Search this Thread

Old January 24th, 2022, 03:17 PM

New 1962 Cutlass Owner seeks opinions/advice on transmission swaps

Hi

I'm the new owner of 1962 cutlass convertible; it's a remarkable fawn colored survivor car in quite good shape. Previous owners replaced the water pump and radiator, fuel pump and put in an electronic distributor; I had to replace the generator with an alternator earlier, but it needs some additional TLC to make it a more enjoyable summer-fall daily local driver. I'm joining here to get some opinion/advice on some of the options for working with the this car (so I'm new to classic car ownership.)

To that end, the springs and shocks currently have the charm of an old hotel mattress so they are necessarily getting redone - and while I'm at it the 13x6" rims with the 4 hole stud pattern (that have a very limited tire choice) are getting updated for 15x7 5 stud rims and a disc brakes conversion on all 4 wheels; also including a dual master cylinder upgrade; all with parts from BCCP. So before long it will be riding on radial tires instead of the bias tires it came with and the car hopefully wont tell me about every pebble/bump in the road nor be as prone to lock up and skid as it is now... So far that wasn't too hard to figure out and source parts for.

Two possible additional modifications seem to merit consideration and I'd welcome the perspectives and advice of others who have done this or similar work on their classics.

(I've clearly already crossed the line from keeping it as stock as possible but I'm assuming that's not out of line here.)