1961 Master Cylinder Replacement.

Search this Thread

Old December 14th, 2020, 05:38 PM

1961 Master Cylinder Replacement.

I’m in the process of replacing the master cylinder on my recently purchased ‘61 Dynamic 88. The master cylinder is seized. Right now I’m leaning towards replacing the single pot with a new single pot, making sure the emergency brake functions and inspect all components...... but while I’m doing a master cylinder replacement I can’t help but think I should just install a dual reservoir master cylinder.
So the question, if I went to a dual reservoir, would I be able to use the stock brake booster? Any suggestions on a kit or the master cylinder to buy?

Thanks in advance.

Allan
Old December 15th, 2020, 01:55 PM

If it's possible, I would suggest replacing all wheel cylinders, rubber hoses, and metal lines. If the master was seized there was probably water in the system and the lines and wheel cylinders are probably also rotted out.
Old December 15th, 2020, 03:05 PM
Old(s) Fart

The pushrod should be in line with the bottom two studs. I'm not sure if the spacing on the studs matches the traditional GM master cylinder bolt spacing. Your other problem is that you need to find an M/C with the correct pilot outside diameter where it fits into the booster, since that needs to be a vacuum seal with an O-ring on the stock M/C. The stock M/C is a 1" bore, so the new one will need to be the same. Frankly, given the issues of matching an M/C to that booster, it's likely easier to use a matched M/C and booster combo.
Old December 16th, 2020, 05:54 AM