General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Drums to Disc brakes

Search this Thread

Old May 7th, 2024, 03:07 PM

Drums to Disc brakes

I changed the standard master cylinder to power brake booster om my 72 Cutlass Supreme convertible. That was fun. Next step, drums to disc on the front. I'm on driver side and so far I have bought 2 different coil spring compressors, and both have failed. Needless to say, I can't get the spindles off. I am in desperate need of quality information. I am not a master mechanic, I am a very decent do it yourself guy at the age of 65. I don't like failing. Please help.
Old May 7th, 2024, 03:26 PM

Support the car by the frame on jack stands and let the suspension hang. Put a jack under the lower A-arm and jack it up an inch or so to take the weight off the lower ball joint. Separate the upper ball joint. Separate the lower ball joint and remove the spindle. You don't even have to remove the spring as long as you leave the jack under the lower A-arm. No need for spring compressors unless you are changing them, even then, just let the lower A-arm drop and the spring should pop-out.
Old May 7th, 2024, 03:50 PM

Check this thread for spring compressor discussion. The type pictured in the first post is what I've used several times without issue.

https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...nt-coil-73934/

Then have a look at this thread for a nifty trick breaking stubborn ball joints free. I tried that on my build and it was stupidly easy!

https://classicoldsmobile.com/forums...83/#post287934
Old May 7th, 2024, 08:18 PM
CH3NO2 LEARN IT BURN IT

When you say "changed the standard master cylinder to power brake booster" Do you mean you replaced the drum twin reservoir master to a disc big n small reservoir master on the same power booster?

I've always used the jack stand hydraulic jack method too. Safety first.