General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

GPS.what's a car form with out talking about some gps?

Search this Thread

Old May 5th, 2009, 10:40 PM
Just A BaBy {:

GPS.what's a car form with out talking about some gps?

would love to know is any 1 using Insignia NS-CNV10? if not what do you have?
Old May 6th, 2009, 04:29 AM
Oldsdruid

Rand McNally and DeLorme atlases. If you know how to read a map you don't need GPS.

Besides, Big Brother can't track a road atlas.
Old May 6th, 2009, 04:50 AM

My GPS is that big righthand dash compartment with those huge sheets of paper with lines all over them that never seem to refold correctly...
Of course i also have that CPU in my brain that has to process all those lines and the error-correction system has to determine that creases and tears are not roads...

All kidding aside, this is what I use. Often I will make photocopies of the exact areas i am going and highlight my route. I am studying a Maine map for a vacation next month.
Paper maps are more accurate and a lot more can be seen then on a sun-washed 3" screen, providing the batteries do not die the GPS gets you lost... Also, I trust my gut instict more than a gadget that was programmed years ago. Cheaper, too!

Paper maps - as historical as our old cars...

Last edited by Lady72nRob71; May 6th, 2009 at 04:52 AM.
Old May 6th, 2009, 04:50 AM

Amen. Maps are all anyone needs! Why do people fall for this techno-crap?
Old May 6th, 2009, 05:30 AM

i still use maps but it sure would be easier to just put the address in and let it tell me where to go. just don't make it mad! it may really tell you where to go

i want one but just don't want to spend the money. a map is alot cheaper.
Old May 6th, 2009, 05:40 AM

Maps are the best bet. The GPS can give bad directions.
Old May 6th, 2009, 05:43 AM
ya'll come back now....