General Discussion Discuss your Oldsmobile or other car-related topics.

Seeking Starter Motor Technical Information/ Input

Search this Thread

Old May 28th, 2022, 08:17 AM

Arrow Seeking Starter Motor Technical Information/ Input

I’m seeking any and all knowledgeable opinions regarding the starter motor installation. As to what I have read, one must adjust the depth of engagement between the pinion and flywheel. The gap has to be set between the starter gear and flywheel gear. flywheel. I believe anywhere between .020" and .060". From the information I obtained.

After 35 years, my starter motor (Original AC-Delco) failed. I have been using a local mechanic for a few years and I allowed him to perform the work. The labor rate was really cheap and the starter motor was as well. After receiving the vehicle back, the starter was malfunctioning. Instead of him ordering the starter, I purchased a remanufactured off Amazon (AC-Delco). He placed that starter in but failed to bolt on the heat shield, leaving a slight metal sound. I returned back for him to install correctly. I asked him if there were any problems installing the heat shield. The mechanic (no longer a friend) said, “Sometimes they fit, sometimes they don’t”. The starter motor was specked out as O.E.M. That starter failed within a year. Needless to say, I will no longer be returning there.

On the third attempt, I used a different mechanic who installed an Optima starter motor (Limited Lifetime Warranty). The work was done properly for as soon as I hit the key to start the ignition, I could immediately tell the starter was installed correctly. He told me that the the depth has to be adjusted, etc. as mentioned in the first paragraph. He further said no shims were required.

1.) Any and all input relating to the above is appreciated.

2.) What is the actual setting of the gears?

3.) Would a starter motor fail if not installed correctly.