View Poll Results: How much have you spent for a frame off restoration?
<25K
0%
25-50K
66.67%
50-75K
33.33%
>100K
0%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

It's About Time

Search this Thread

Old January 10th, 2021, 09:07 PM

It's About Time

Hello all,
It's about time I stop reading about everyone else's rebuild and start my own. I have my one and only 1972 Cutlass S that I bought almost 36 years ago. I made it a daily driver for 17 years and put 165K miles on top of the already 100K when I bought it. I kept it in the garage for the remainder of the time; driving it around the block occasionally to keep it running. Although I have never rebuilt a car before, I have some experience fixing this one. I hope to rely on all the expertise on this site to get me through this rebuild.

My goal is to build a car I can drive again on a regular basis and put another 100K-150K miles on it before I die or they take my license. It needs to be reliable and fun to drive. That means I am going to pull the body off the frame and get it cleaned up top to bottom inside and out. I want to keep the original motor and transmission while boosting the power to the rear wheels. I want to stiffen the suspension and improve the stance. I will freshen up the interior with new seat covers, carpet, headliner, steering wheel and sound system. I expect to get this done in <2 years and $50K.

I started this Wednesday and got the front clip off yesterday. I want to pull the motor and transmission this Saturday and have my first question. Where is the best place to bolt onto the motor with the hoist chains? I have seen some literature say the intake manifold or on the heads.
Thanks,

Old January 10th, 2021, 09:54 PM
Banned

70 front clip? Did you figure it out? Lifting points are front and rear.

Look into the other build threads here. Don't sweat what people think you should build. Build what YOU want. I will watch your thread.

Last edited by no1oldsfan; January 10th, 2021 at 09:58 PM.