1963 Olds Ninety-Eight

Search this Thread

Old March 20th, 2007, 08:15 PM

1963 Olds Ninety-Eight

I'm new to the old car scene... always wanted one, but could never find enough spare cash to buy a solid project. I just picked up this one locally, and she looks like a ringer. It needs tires, brakes, and a tune-up to get it roadworthy. It has 70k original miles, and I bought it from the second owner, who had planned on restoring it, but acquired two other projects and decided to cut this one. I read in another post about a '61 that the trannies in these act up... is that also true for this year? I haven't actually taken it for a road test, due to bad brakes. What should I start with once I get it trailered home?

Here's the listing so you can take a look at it:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/OLDSM...QQcmdZViewItem
Old March 21st, 2007, 09:37 AM
Past Administrator

You have a nice looker there! My son owns a '64 six window fourdoor similar to that except his is a hardtop. It has the slim jim tranny and he hates it. Not to burst your bubble though, your car may have a good tight tranny, who knows? Do the brakes first, then the tune-up and get it running good. Last, find out if the tranny is any good or not.
Old March 21st, 2007, 12:11 PM

If I decide to do something different with the tranny, what would you guys recommend? A rebuild kit, or an adapter kit for a Chevy trans? Oh, and another thing, I've heard that the High Compression engines require high octane gas to run properly... will that be the case with mine?
Old March 21st, 2007, 01:23 PM
Past Administrator