Carb Problems

Search this Thread

Old June 15th, 2006, 12:58 PM

Arrow Carb Problems

I am a decent mechanic when it comes to 90% of things. My carb is always wet and I am not sure if I should A: rebuild my carb (QudraJet, QuadraJunk, whichever you prefer) B: take it to a shop and have them rebuild it C: buy a new carb.

Keep in mind that it is controlled by the ECM and has an idle stop solinoid and all the fancy crap that the CA regulations made GM put on or however that went. It is an 81 Regency with a 307.

If your answer is A , Is it that hard to do, or is it just about keeping things organized between your kit and your torn apart carb?
If your answer is C , My question is then : Do they make a carb that will bolt on or do I need to replace the intake as well?
Old June 15th, 2006, 03:33 PM

Find a carb shop that will rebuild then run carb on a test engine to set up emissions, throttle position etc.....It worked for me and I breezed thru NJ emission testing....All ya have to do is unbolt the carb then re-install making a note of all vacuum lines.
Old June 15th, 2006, 04:05 PM
Tom Servo's Stunt Double

Wet carb is usually caused by the top plate screws either loose or overtightened and warping the top plate. If the screws are not loose, try 2 top plate gaskets stacked.

I'd try that first and then Oldsmaniac's suggestion.

JMHO

C.J.
Old June 16th, 2006, 12:00 PM

What if it is leaking by the Accel Pump? Is there a diaphram needing replacement in there like on a TBI. I did one on a suburban but it is a little intimidating on a car like mine with all the extra emissions stuff to just start ripping the carb apart.
Old June 16th, 2006, 05:38 PM
Tom Servo's Stunt Double

True enough. Hadn't thought of the accelerator pump. It's easy to change. Nobody makes QJet rebuild kits any more, though. See if you can find an "olde tyme" auto parts store and maybe they can dust one off for you.

C.J.
Old June 16th, 2006, 07:47 PM

Rebuild