Radiator won't pressurize "66 toronado

Search this Thread

Old February 24th, 2022, 01:28 PM

Radiator won't pressurize "66 toronado

So, i finished my timing chain replacement, new water pump; had the radiator to the shop and repaired the lower neck, which was very weak where it attaches, installed it with new hoses, top and bottom, as well as the hoses from the water pump to the thermostat and heater core, etc. The issue is that the radiator won't pressurize, no coolant leaks, i have a 205-degree thermostat installed, temp only goes to about little past 1/3 from cold.; there is heat from the heater, won't roast you out, but i am in Pa. and it's plenty cold here lately. This is nothing new though, i have had the car for 25 years and the hoses always felt like they had very little pressure in them, even in the summer months. I would also say that the rad cap is not new, but i switched it with another used cap, both 16 psi caps, and no difference. I welcome any comments and or suggestions,,,
Old February 24th, 2022, 01:44 PM
Old(s) Fart

First, I'll be amazed if you really have a "205 deg" thermostat. Stock t-stat in 1966 was 180 degree. Second, how exactly are you determining that the radiator won't pressurize? Have you used a cooling system pressure tester? And I'm sorry but I don't follow what the temp reading has to do with the pressurization.

Old February 24th, 2022, 03:10 PM

Yes, as i had stated, this has been on-going for a long long time, I know the factory was 180 degrees, i keep upping it over time to get more heat into the cabin. I know it doesn't pressurize because the hoses don't feel like they have pressure in them after, well after, the engine reaches operating temp, I don't' need pressure tester to tell me that. If i run the car for an hour, i can then open the hood and remove the radiator cap without any fear of coolant blowing out; that is how i know it is not pressuring; thanks
Old February 24th, 2022, 03:11 PM
Running On Empty