The Newbie Forum The place where you should introduce yourself. Do not ask technical questions here, use the site forum sections.

27 Sedan

Search this Thread

Old November 15th, 2019, 07:27 PM

Cool 27 Sedan

I just purchased my first Oldsmobile - a 1927 5-Passenger Sedan. I will pick it up next week when it quits raining. The odometer has 12345 miles on it and it has it original interior with no rips or tears on the seats. It is rusty, mostly surface rust with one spot on the roof edge that has a 6" rot out area. No dents. I will put in a welded-patch as soon as I can. It runs and has four good (new) tires. That is the sum of my knowledge of the car. Oh wait a minute - Yes, it was bought from a little old lady who was the original owner.

I am going to need a lot of good advice from knowledgeable people. I am not an expert on any subject. I just like old cars and flathead motorcycles. I look forward to making this car my daily driver.

Try not to make too much fun of me. In return, I will try to keep my mouth shut in discussions of subjects that require some modicum of intelligence.

Jim Tarleton
Old November 15th, 2019, 07:33 PM
Administrator

Welcome to the site, lets see some pictures.
Old November 15th, 2019, 07:42 PM

Welcome, Well Jim with my wealth of ignorance on early Oldsmobile's I doubt I would venture any levity towards you. About the only thing I might contribute would be my concern on the wood door frames roof pieces.Oldsmobile didn't use steel till the mid 30's and cost to rebuild those wood pieces get expensive quickly We would sure like to see some pictures...... Lost in the fifties..... Tedd
Old November 15th, 2019, 09:23 PM
Proud Viet Nam Veteran