Other Oldsmobiles Anything not listed above, such as F-85 (1961-1963), Firenza (1982-1988), Starfire (1961-66 and 1975-80), Omega, etc.

1962 Starfire ignition timing??

Search this Thread

Old October 4th, 2010, 06:34 AM

1962 Starfire ignition timing??

This is my first time posting on this forum and I appreciate any information anyone could afford me. My father purchased a '62 Starfire about a year ago and we need some tips on how to tune it correctly. It has a 394 cu. w/ auto 4bbl carb. point type ignition. The original carb has been replaced by a remanufactured one (exact replacement), the points, condensor, coil, cap and wires have been replaced. The ignition timing has us stumped. We removed the vacuum line to dist. at base of carb.(manifold vacuum) and set timing to 5' BTDC and it runs smooth, checked dwell at 30, everything seems fine but once vacuum line is reconnected to dist. the engine bucks a little and you can hear it misfire out the exhaust. The timing has gone from 5' BTDC to 33'-35' BTDC and once the mechanical advance is figured in we have almost 50' at 2200-2500 RPM. This doesn't sound correct to us. I will admit I am new to Oldsmobiles and GM products in general, I mostly work with Fords, but my father owned a few Oldsmobiles and it has been some time since we dealt with non-electronic ignitions so we may have missed a step in the tuning procedure. The carb was a Holley remanned Rochester?? and before installing it we looked at it closely and used part numbers to match it when we ordered it so it looks to be the correct model. There is a manifold vauum line at base of carb but no timed vacuum port, this seems to be where we are getting confused. The manifold vacuum is advancing the dist too much causing the misfire but no other vacuum port exists for the dist. Please help if possible we have done everything two or three times but still end with the same result of course to see if we missed something. Sorry for the long post just want to give as