Bushing Replacement Tips?

Search this Thread

Old April 7th, 2009, 11:48 PM

Bushing Replacement Tips?

So I just bought a Front-End Kit to replace all my bushings, tie rods, ball joints etc. Any tips or experiences before I dig into this and rip everything apart? I've never done this before and honestly know nothing about steering and suspension work. Wish me luck and as always, your thoughts are appreciated.
Old April 8th, 2009, 10:33 AM
Old(s) Fart

Originally Posted by Wilson05
So I just bought a Front-End Kit to replace all my bushings, tie rods, ball joints etc. Any tips or experiences before I dig into this and rip everything apart? I've never done this before and honestly know nothing about steering and suspension work. Wish me luck and as always, your thoughts are appreciated.
STOP!

Step away from the wrench.

Get yourself a Chassis Service Manual first! There are several potential problems here. Improper reassembly can lead to a dangerous situation while driving. Improper disassembly can lead to a coil spring wedged up your nose. This isn't very difficult, but you need to do it correctly.
Old April 8th, 2009, 10:58 AM

Originally Posted by joe_padavano
STOP!

Step away from the wrench.

Get yourself a Chassis Service Manual first! There are several potential problems here. Improper reassembly can lead to a dangerous situation while driving. Improper disassembly can lead to a coil spring wedged up your nose. This isn't very difficult, but you need to do it correctly.
Joe wouldn't a coil spring up your nose help one breathe better?
Old April 8th, 2009, 01:05 PM

Assuming you were still breathing after removal
Old April 8th, 2009, 02:20 PM

I had a front coil spring pop out and hit me in the chest.

It fractured my brestbone, and it could have killed me.

Stored energy in the form of a coil spring is really dangerous if you do not know what you are doing.
Old April 8th, 2009, 04:54 PM