307 Cranks, Coughs but doesn't start :(

Search this Thread

Old January 18th, 2010, 02:59 PM

307 Cranks, Coughs but doesn't start :(

I fear my baby is sick 1984 Oldsmobile Custom Cruiser 5.0L (307)

I went to the store and the car started acting like it was running out of gas and then sputtered out and now wont start

I've used starting fluid, held the carb open, tried to start it rich, WOT, and everything I could think of, and won't turn over.

But I fear she may have jumped timing on me, but i've never seen a car jump time and die the way it did.

It has fuel (I checked it at the carb), the filter is good, it has spark, and it has compression.... I don't think it was flooded, because it still wouldn't start after about 2 hours..

Im gonna head over to work on it more today, and if it doesn't start, i'll be stumped.. especially since its in a parking lot, and I don't have a timing light... Im relatively new to carbeurated motors... any gear-heads know of this issue?? She's my favorite car and Im kinda sad now lol

) I checked the filter, and its good, and I replaced it anyway, seeing as it only set me back 2 bucks.. I had small complications cause I couldn't remember if the spring went to the carb or the connecting tube, but figured that out, and she's definently getting fuel and plenty of it.

2) I didn't have the right socket to pull my plug out, but I was able to stick something metallic in the plug wire & do it that way, but i'll try using a new plug & see what kind of spark i get. As well as go & get the right socket so i can check my spark plugs also to make sure they're not oiled up or anything. There doesn't appear to be any problems with the plug wires, and I didn't see anything in the dark when I was working on it last night, but i'll probably replace those anyways since they're overdue.