1955 hydromatic help!

Search this Thread

Old April 25th, 2024, 01:42 PM

1955 hydromatic help!

Hey guys I’m new to Oldsmobiles, with this being my first one. It’s a 1955 olds 98. I just picked it up, but it’s leaking a lot of trans fluid. I just pulled the hydromatic trans out to reseal it, it’s leaking from the front main seal, and also the rear tail shaft seal.

I got a few questions regarding. I did buy a manual for the 55 but I know there’s a wealth of knowledge here and was hoping for some help.

first off when I got the trans out the rear of the torus cover seems to be really loose inside the bell housing, the retainer nut is there and tight as should be but the cover just kinda floats around is that normal? Is there a seal missing inside the rear portion of the cover?

second is I know the rear seal goes in from the inside of the tail shaft from the reaearch I’ve done, looking at the manual looks like some internals need to be removed to take the tail shaft off. How extensive is this to do just to change the seals?

lastly I’ve started to pull the fro t apart to get to the front seal, I’ve removed the torus cover and drive torus, and the fly wheel housing off the trans, now there two bolts to remove the front pump and change the seals, is that all I need to do to reseal this front leak?

im pretty mechanical and good with a wrench, just new to these cars. I’m gonna try and post a video of the torus cover hopefully it works.

thanks in advanced to any and all help!
Attached Files
File Type: mov
IMG_3596.mov (14.25 MB, 7 views)

Last edited by ICKsteve; April 25th, 2024 at 02:01 PM.
Old April 25th, 2024, 02:53 PM
Gary

Steve,

Thanks go to you from us on CO who admire your willingness to take on the unknown in an informed way.

You are an asset to our old automobile community with your great attitude.

Just a point of history... In 1939, Oldsmobile was the first car manufacturer to offer a fully-automatic transmission. They called it Hydra-Matic.