72 Olds Cutlass Supreme-Tranny Pan

Search this Thread

Old July 8th, 2010, 08:33 AM

72 Olds Cutlass Supreme-Tranny Pan

Hey Everyone, hope all of you and your olds are doing fabulous. Well My tranny pan is leaking on my olds and I am new to doing these things on my own, so I guess I am just making sure its done right. When I look under the car, (jacked up) Everything looks like it could be original, I should probably take some pictures, the gunk that is caked on is just horrible. Can anyone give me any tips about replacing the gasket and what kind of Tranny fluid to use. I know that I have to clean the surface thouroughly and make sure the the bolts are not so tight. Any help would be lovely...

Thanks-Jackie
Old July 8th, 2010, 12:55 PM
Registered

Sounds like you have it under control, clean and no gorilla tightening is always good.
You usually drop the pan to replace the trans filter, the parts store usually sells the filter and pan gasket together.
You need something big and wide to catch all the fluid when you drop the pan.
The book says only use Dexron or equivalent automatic trans fluid.
Old July 8th, 2010, 01:22 PM

Make sure you don't use any RTV or sealant on the gasket. It isn't needed for a transmission pan. Plus, you don't want any of it to come loose in the transmission and destroy the valve body.

Also, it would be a good idea to add a drain plug to your transmission while the pan is off. In addtion, you might consider adding a shift kit if you like putting performance goodies on your car.
Old July 8th, 2010, 02:29 PM

Originally Posted by Olds64
Make sure you don't use any RTV or sealant on the gasket. It isn't needed for a transmission pan. Plus, you don't want any of it to come loose in the transmission and destroy the valve body.

Also, it would be a good idea to add a drain plug to your transmission while the pan is off. In addtion, you might consider adding a shift kit if you like putting performance goodies on your car.